Paediatrics Awards and Recognition Committee (ARC) Bulletin

The Department of Paediatrics Nominations Committee was formed in March 2021 with the objective of increasing the local, national and international profile of the Department of Paediatrics, University of Toronto through the strategic promotion of our talented faculty. This will enhance the academic profile and career development of our Department of Paediatrics faculty at the University of Toronto and internationally.

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS: SPR Young Investigator Award

The prestigious <u>Young Investigator Award</u> was established by SPR in 1983 to honor the early achievements of scientists and physician-scientists engaged in discovery-based research for diseases that affect children. The award recognizes a rising star with outstanding scientific research accomplishments that help to unravel the mysteries of childhood development or disease.

Eligibility is listed below. If you would like to nominate a colleague for this award, please forward a copy of their CV and a short paragraph explaining why you think the candidate is deserving of this award by Sept 29th. Please forward to arc.paediatrics@sickkids.ca.

Eligibility

- Must have completed no more than 7 years post-training at the time of the upcoming PAS Meeting (residency, post-doctoral or research fellowship).
- Nominators of candidates who have completed more than 7 years of post-training due to an interruption in research careers may request that committee waive stipulation
- Must not hold rank higher than Assistant Professor or equivalent.
- Individuals with MD and/or PhD are encouraged to apply.
- Research work must have been conducted after graduation from medical school or completion of PhD.
- Nominations must be made by a member of at least one of the Societies or Alliances that comprise the Pediatric Academic Societies.
- Recipient must be able to attend the PAS Meeting.

Upcoming Awards and Deadlines – Other Awards

With the strategic goal of promoting SickKids Faculty to increase our local, regional and international impact/profile, our plan is to send a quarterly communication out listing upcoming awards with full details. Attached is a list of upcoming awards that are not vetted through Department of Paediatrics. You might consider nominating a colleague for an award or consider asking a colleague to nominate you!

Awards Announcement

University of Toronto Temerty Faculty of Medicine Awards

Congratulations to Dr. Nirit Bernhard, Dr. Susanna Talarico and Dr. Hosanna Au who were each recipients of Temerty Faculty of Medicine Awards. These awards recognize truly outstanding teachers in the medical education program for not only their teaching but their education innovation, course / program development and coordination and their outstanding departmental faculty development programs leading to the enhancement of education, instruction, career development, professionalism, inter-professionalism, and/or health professional leadership within the Faculty of Medicine.

W.T. Aikens Award for Excellence in Individual Teaching Performance



Dr. Hosanna Au, MD, DipMEd, FRCPC, Staff Physician in the Division of Paediatric Medicine and Associate Professor, Paediatrics

W.T. Aikens Award for Excellence in Course/Program Development and Coordination



Dr. Nirit Bernhard, MSc, MD, FRCPC, Associate Staff Physician in the Division of Paediatric Medicine and Assistant Professor, Paediatrics

Helen P. Batty Award for
Excellence and Achievement in
Faculty Development: Sustained
Excellence in Teaching as a Faculty
Developer



Dr. Susanna Talarico, BEd, MD, FRCPC, MScCH, Staff Physician in the Division of Paediatric Medicine and Assistant Professor, Paediatrics

The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) Researcher Awards

The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) awards Canadian Researchers with one of the most prestigious academic honours in the country, a fellowship. Congratulations to Dr. David Malkin and Dr. Steven Miller who have been elected as fellows to the RSC! Drs. Malkin and Miller join the 2022 cohort of Fellows in recognition for their outstanding scholarly and scientific achievement.



Dr. David Malkin, MD, FRSC, Senior Staff Oncologist in the Division of Haematology/Oncology, Director of the Cancer Genetics Program, Professor of Paediatrics



Dr. Steven Miller, MD, FRSC, former Head of the Division of Neurology and Professor of Paediatrics

Canada Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS) Fellowship

CAHS Fellowship is also recognized as one of Canada's highest academic honours in the health sciences community. Congratulations to Dr. Meredith Irwin and Dr. Lisa Robinson who were elected this year for their leadership, academic performance, scientific creativity and commitment to advance the field!



Dr. Meredith Irwin, MD, FCAHS, Paediatrician-in-Chief/Chair Department of Paediatrics



Dr. Lisa Robinson, MD, FCAHS, Staff Physician in the Division of Nephrology and Vice-Dean, Strategy & Operations, Temerty Faculty of Medicine

For any questions or feedback/comments, please contact us at arc.paediatrics@sickkids.ca.

Have you recently received an award, or know of a colleague that received an award that you'd like to be highlighted in the Department of Paediatrics newsletter? Please send us the details at arc.paediatrics@sickkids.ca!